BASAHIN SA FILIPINO! Maaaring basahin ang pahinang ito sa FILIPINO. Gawin lamang i-click ang salitang "TRANSLATE" sa kanang bahagi sa itaas at piliin ang pagsalin mula Ingles sa Filipino.

January 2, 2018

Republic Act No. 5689 Creating the Municipality of Laurel, Batangas

The lakeside Municipality of Laurel in Batangas used to be part of Talisay and even Taal during the Spanish colonial era. In the 1960s several barrios of Talisay, determined to become an independent town, had a signed petition forwarded to then-President Diosdado Macapagal through Senator Maria Kalaw Katigbak.

This initial effort did not prosper. However, later that decade, a resolution for the separation from Talisay was forwarded to the provincial government who, in turn, endorsed it to Congress. This second effort proved successful and by 1969, Republic Act Number 5689 was passed formally establishing the town of Laurel, named after Jose P. Laurel Sr., President of the 2nd Philippine Republic.

Republic Act No. 5689

An Act Creating the Municipality of Laurel in the Province of Batangas

Section 1. Barrios Bayuyungan, Ticub, Balakilong, Bugaan, Borinayan, As-is, San Gabriel, and Buso-buso in the Municipality of Talisay, Province of Batangas, are separated from said municipality and constituted into a distinct and independent municipality to be known as the Municipality of Laurel, same province. The seat of government of the new municipality shall be in the present site of Barrio Bayuyungan.

Section 2. The first mayor, vice-mayor, and councilors of the new municipality shall be elected in the next general elections for local officials.

Section 3. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved: June 21, 1969.

Notes and references:
Source: Corpus Juris

🙏 Kindly consider sharing this article on your social media accounts to keep this site free for students and lovers of Batangas History.

If you wish to make a donation to Batangas History, click on the Donate button below: