BASAHIN SA FILIPINO! Maaaring basahin ang pahinang ito sa FILIPINO. Gawin lamang i-click ang salitang "TRANSLATE" sa kanang bahagi sa itaas at piliin ang pagsalin mula Ingles sa Filipino.

January 1, 2018

Executive Order No. 454, s. 1961 Creating Santa Teresita, Batangas

The case of the Municipality of Santa Teresita in Batangas is somewhat peculiar in the sense when it was created in 1961, its territory consisted of barrios that erstwhile belonged to three other towns: Taal, San Nicolas and San Luis. Both San Nicolas and San Luis, incidentally, also used to be part of Taal.

In the present day, Santa Teresita is considered a 5th income class municipality. It is Batangas’ 2nd smallest town in Batangas with a population of just 21,127 as per the 2015 Philippine Census.

Below are the contents of the Executive Order creating the town:






Upon the recommendation of the Provincial Board of Batangas and pursuant to the provisions of section sixty-eight of the Revised Administrative Code, there is hereby created in the province of Batangas a municipality to be known as the municipality of Sta. Teresita to consist of the following barrios:

From the Municipality of Taal:
  • Bihis
  • Calayaan
  • Cuta
  • Irukan
  • Sambat
  • Sinipian
From the Municipality of San Nicolas:
  • Bucal
  • Calumala
  • Saimsim
  • Tambo
From the Municipality of San Luis:
  • Pacifico
  • Sampa
with the seat of government at the barrio of Sambat.

The municipality of Sta. Teresita as herein organized shall have the following boundaries:

“Starting at the mouth of a ravine at Point “A” (Departure—120° 58′ 52″, Latitude—13° 54′ 54″) at the rim of Lake Taal between Saimsim and Bangkoro, the boundary line traverses along the said ravine to Point “B” (Departure—120° 58′ 11″, Latitude—13° 53′ 16″) between Burol and Kultihan; from Point “B”, a curved line to Point “C” (Departure—120° 58′ 16″, Latitude—13° 52′ 55″) in Bihis; from Point “C”, an almost straight line through Tawilisan in Bihis to Point “D” (Departure—120° 57′ 47″, Latitude—13° 52′ 12″) between Kalayaan and Buli; from Point “D”, a curved line to Point “E” (Departure—120° 57′ 27″, Latitude—13° 52′ 14″) at the intersection of Callejons from Irukan and Buli; from Point “E”, an irregular line to Point “F” (Departure—120° 59′ 59″, Latitude—13° 51′ 44″) between Irukan and Pasol; from Point “F”, an irregular line to Point “G” (Departure—120° 57° 57′ 36″, Latitude—13° 51′ 00″) between Sampa and San Jose, from Point “G”, an irregular line following the route of a Ravine up to where the same ends at a place south of Pacific and from thence, an irregular line to Point “H” (Departure—120° 59′ 21″, Latitude—13° 51′ 28″) at the bridge on the National Highway between Sambat and Muzon, San Luis; from Point “H”, a straight line to Point “I” (Departure—120° 59′ 49″, Latitude—13° 51′ 16″) on the National Highway to Alitagtag; and from Point “I”, a curved line to Point “J” (Departure—120° 59′ 46″, Latitude—13° 52′ 35″) at the southern rim of Lake Taal where Kutang Kawayan is separate from Alitagtag. (As described by Aniceto R. Macatangay, Assistant Civil Engineer, Office of the Highway District Engineer of Batangas, based on the map prepared and submitted by said Office, Scale: 1,200,000)

The municipalities of Taal, San Nicolas, and San Luis shall have their respective territories minus the portions thereof which are included in the territory of the municipality of Sta. Teresita, as delimited above.

The municipality of Sta. Teresita shall begin to exist upon the appointment and qualification of the mayor, vice-mayor, and a majority of the councilors thereof and upon the certification by the Secretary of Finance that said municipality is financially capable of implementing the provisions of the Minimum Wage Law and of providing for all the statutory obligations and ordinary essential services of a regular municipality and that the municipalities of Taal, San Nicolas, and San Luis, after the segregation therefrom of the territory comprised in the municipality of Sta. Teresita, can still maintain creditably their respective municipal governments, meet all their statutory and contractual obligations, and provide for the essential municipal services.

Done in the City of Manila, this 28th day of December, in the year of Our Lord, nineteen hundred and sixty-one, and of the Independence of the Philippines, the sixteenth.

President of the Philippines

By the President:

Assistant Executive Secretary

Signed on: 28 December 1961

Notes and references:
Official Gazette

🙏 Kindly consider sharing this article on your social media accounts to keep this site free for students and lovers of Batangas History.

If you wish to make a donation to Batangas History, click on the Donate button below: