Ibaan, Batangas: Historical Data Part I - Batangas History, Culture and Folklore Ibaan, Batangas: Historical Data Part I - Batangas History, Culture and Folklore

Ibaan, Batangas: Historical Data Part I

Historical Data graphic
Historical data from the National Library of the Philippines.



Full transcription of the so-called “Historical Data” for the Municipality of Ibaan, Batangas, the original scanned documents at the National Library of the Philippines Digital Collections not having OCR or optical character recognition properties. This transcription has been edited for grammar, spelling and punctuation where possible. The original pagination is provided for citation purposes.

[Cover page.]


[p. 1]


19. Present official name of the town – Ibaan

20. Former name, meaning and derivation –

Formerly, this town was a barrio and a part of Batangas, the capital of the province. Prior to 1800, the first settlement was established in Matala, now a barrio four kilometers from the location of the present town. Not long after in 1817, efforts were made to transfer the town to the present site. In 1827, a provisional church was completed and blessed. Fifteen years after in 1832, the town was formally separated from the municipality of Batangas. The principalia was organized and the Governadorcillo, Cabeza de Barangay and other members exercised their powers and duties.

Meaning and derivation - -

Just how Ibaan happened to be called is so simple. It was said by local historians that in the childhood of mankind, this place was heavily forested by “Iba” trees. The “Iba” tree is very similar in structure to “Calamias,” only it bears rounded fruits in clusters, unlike the latter which bears oblong ones. The early settlers derived “Ibaan” from the specie “Iba.”

21. Date of establishment – 1747

22. Name and Status of the Founders –

a. Don Francisco de Mercado – Governadorcillo

b. Don Anacleto Montalbo – Governadorcillo

This was in the year 1747 to 1751.

23. Names of persons who held leading official positions in the community, with the dates of their terms.

Governadorcillo and Mayors

1. Don Bernardo Rafael
2. Don Alfonso Vilela
3. Don Valentin Arias
4. Don Julian Perez
5. Don Juan Caringal
6. Don Saturnino de la Cruz
7. Don Bernabe Roxas
8. Don Geronimo Montalbo
9. Don Carlos Suarez
10. Don Valentin de Chavez
11. Don Saturnino de los Reyes
12. Don Melecio Guerra
13. Don Cristobal Tejada
14. Don Florentino Guerra
15. Don Antonio Roxas
16. Don Gabriel Gamboa
17. Don Tomas Guerra
18. Don Juan Portugal
19. Don Lucas Medrano
20. Don Clemente Torralba

[p. 2]

21. Don Melecio Guerra1853
22. Don Mariano Pana1853
23. Don Vicente Villamin1854
24. Don Mariano Hernandez1855
25. Don Fabiano Perez1856
26. Don Gervacio Bago1857
27. Don Marcos de los Reyes1858
28. Don Geronimo Montalbo1859
29. Don Valentin Arias1860
30. Don Roman Caringal1862
31. Don Anastacio Medrano1863
32. Don Baltazar Caringal1865
33. Don Roman Caringal1867
34. Don Herminigildo Duarte1869
35. Don Mariano Valdez1870
36. Don Cristobal Tejada1873
37. Don Cenon Caringal1874
38. Don Gelacio Aleta1875
39. Don Angel Perez1878
40. Don Saturnino Ramos1880
41. Don Rafael Reyes1882
42. Don Severino Mercado1884
43. Don Roman Baruel1886
44. Don Vicente Roxas1888
45. Don Gervacio Beltran1890
46. Don Celedonio Reyes1891
47. Don Domingo Yabyabin1892
48. Don Justo Suanes1894
49. Don Juan Eleosida1896
50. Don Baltazar Ramirez1898
51. Sr. Isabelo Guerra1901
52. Sr. Francisco Quinio1904
53. St. Mateo Ilustre1906
54. Sr. Juan Macatangay1908
55. Sr. Saturnino Lopez1910
56. Sr. Joaquin Trillanes1913
57. Sr. Martin Montalbo1916
58. Sr. Antonino Yabyabin1919
59. Sr. Cayetano de Castro1923
60. Sr. Cayetano de Castro1925
61. Sr. Juan Macatangay1926
62. Sr. Joaquin Trillanes1927
63. Sr. Juan Mactangay1930
64. Sr. Aurelio Hernandez1935
65. Sr. Miguel Mercado1938
66. Sr. Santiago Yabyabin1944
67. Sr. Quentin Hernandez
68. Sr. Tomas Altamirano
69. Sr. Miguel Mercado
70. Sr. Juan T. Mercado1944-present


1. P. Esteban Flores1832-37
2. P. Marcos Anton1837-43
3. P. Andres Dias1843-45
4. P. Vicente Iturralde1845
5. P. Jacinto Masangkay1845-48
6. P. Martin Madlanbayan1848
7. P. Pedro Cuesta1848-49
8. P. Martin Madlanbayan1849-50
9. P. Paulino Palacios1850-52
10. P. Martin Madlanbayan1853

[p. 3]

11. Manuel Diaz Gonzales1854-62
12. Leoncio C. Mercado1862-65
13. Alvaro Calleja1865
14. Bruno Laredo1865-70
15. Braulio Enriquez1870-71
16. Guillermo Cuevas1871-72
17. Francisco Rosales1872-73
18. Vicente Maril1873-84
19. Mariano Ilagan1884
20. Anastacio C. Cruz1884-85
21. Moises Santos1885
22. Anastacio Cruz1885-86
23. Tomas Agudo1886-91
24. Francisco Alvarez1891-97
25. Jose Alonzo1897-98
26. Adriano Aranas1898-99
27. Lucino Reyes1899-1900
28. Cecilio Punzalan1900-01
29. Julio Villavicencio1901
30. Miguel Catala1901-02
31. Pablo Dizon1902-11
32. Ciriaco de Castro1911
33. Juan Van Fagen1911
34. Nicolas Ruytes1911-13
35. Juan Zegera1913-15
36. Raymundo Esquivel1915
37. Eugenio Gaerlone1915-18
38. Ernesto Fornaca1918-38
39. Jose Visintainer1938-41
40. Guidoi Collati1941-53

List of Justices of the Peace – Ibaan

1. Canuto Perez1888
2. Juan Magnaye
3. Eugenio Perez
4. Vicente Roxas
5. Francisco Quinio1901
6. Mateo Ilustre1902-06
7. Juan Reyes
8. Joaquin Trililanes
9. Susano Montalbo
10. Lorenzo Visconde
11. Jose M. Manguiat
12. Diego ArenasPresent

Chiefs of Police

1. Amato Buendia1900-03
2. Santiago Torralba1903-05
3. Aurelio Hernandez1905
4. Alejandro Reyes
5. Mateo Ilustre
6. German Guerra
7. Aurelio Hernandez1911-15
8. German Guerra1915-16
9. Aurelio Hernandez1916-28
10. Andres Ilustre1928
11. Tomas Semira1929
12. Pedro de Castro
13. Jose Portus1952-present

[p. 4]

Municipal Treasurers –

From the year 1899 to 1901, Mr. Jose Mercado Medrano Jr. and Mr. Martin Montalbo, who were both cabezas de barangay at that time, were designated by Gen. M. Malvar as collectors of voluntary contributions of the people for the support of the Phil. Revolutionary forces – “insurrectos.”

1. Telesforo Semira
2. Alejandro Lacsamana
3. Gregorio Sarsozo
4. Catalino Bautista
5. Daniel Torralba
6. Juan Abjelina
7. Ponciano Roxas
8. Ceferino Hernandez
9. Leandro C. Gonda – present treasurer


1. Juan Macatangay1901-03
2. Martin Montalbo1904-07
3. Flaviano Torralba1908-09
4. Antonino Yabyabin1910-12
5. Martin Montalbo1913-15
6. Dalmacio Mercado1916-18
7. Florentino Andal1919-21
8. Juan Macatangay1922-24
9. Paulo Pasia1925-27
10. Jose Marasigan1928-31
11. German Guerra1932-34
12. Lucas Semira1935-37
13. Andres P. Ilustre1938-40
14. Tomas P. Altamirano1941
15. Santiago Yabyabin1942-44
16. Macario Medrano1946
17. Sixto Guerra1947-50
18. Hugo Mercado1950-51
19. Andres P. Ilustre1951-present

24. Data on historical sites, structures, buildings, etc.

Historical Structures – The Baptismal Dome of the Catholic Church dating more than a century as of 1938.

The natural bridge in barrio Sandalan 2½ kms. from the town.

The natural swimming pool with a large spring near it, deep and wide enough for 20 persons to bathe in it. These two beautiful sceneries of natural beauty are joined together in one place. The natural bridge is said to be the rendezvous and hiding place of the notorious “Igat” and “Pangalang.” “Igat,” one of the leaders of a gang, obtained his name as he could always evade the arrest of the authorities, being slippery, hard to catch like an eel, hence the name “Igat” was given to him. “Pangalang,” another leader of a gang, could always save his men from arrest as he used his person as “Pang-Kalang” (shield) for the others.


Notes and references:
Transcribed from “History and and Life of the Town – Ibaan” 1953, online at the National Library of the Philippines Digital Collections.
Next Post Previous Post